Skip to Main Content

Thomas S. Wootton Media Center: Bauer - Ancient World Project

Phone: 240-740-1564

Ancient World Project - Mr. Bauer

Ancient Wold Project - Mr. Bauer 

Guidelines

Ancient World Project

Directions:

You and a partner will be doing a research project on an ancient civilization. Create a PowerPoint/Google Slides presentation on your civilization. The presentation should take 5 minutes.

  • You will do a 5 minute presentation to the class on Friday 10/19.
  • You must uses at least 2 book sources in your research.

 

You must include:

  • Map and Geography: Provide a map of your civilization. Make sure key cities are on the map as well as the area covered. How was its development affected by geography?
  • History: Briefly explain the history of your civilization. Who founded it? Ow did they come to conqueror/occupy their region? Are there any special or unique characteristics of your civilization that may separate it from the others of this time period?
  • Political characteristics: What is the political structure of your civilization? Who rules? Is there any provincial/local governance?
  • Economic Attributes: Describe the major economic source/s of the civilization economic strength and/or weakness.
  • Social Attributes: What was the social/class make-up of the civilization? What are the demographics of peoples in your civilization?
  • Religious Attributes: What is the main religion? What other religions existed? Did they practice religious toleration?
  • Works Cited Page: You will turn in a document with your sources properly cited using APA or MLA format. You will also provide an evaluation of that source pertaining to its usefulness to your presentation.

Britannica

AE
 Encyclopedia Britannica Online Academic Edition includes encyclopedia articles, multimedia, related web sites, magazines, news, and much more. 

Ancient and Medieval History

History Reference Resource

HRC 
 		 History Reference Center includes more than 300 reference books & encyclopedias; 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies; and more than 100,000 images and historical maps.

SIRS Resource

discoverer 
 SIRS Discoverer provides articles and images from newspapers, magazines, and government documents. Includes a map collection of the United States, Canada, nations and regions of the world.  

Citation Video

Citation Resource - Noodle Tools

Why is it important to cite your sources?

  • So your reader knows where you got your information.
  • To give credit where credit is due.
  • To avoid plagiarism, which can have serious consequences.

Create your citations as you go, so you don't lose track of your sources!

Cite any source of ideas or information that you use in your final product, including images.

 
noodletools
NoodleTools  allows you to organize and synthesize information using online notecards and format a bibliography in MLA, APA, or Chicago/Turabian style.

Citation Example - Book

Book:

Author's last name, first name. Title of book. Place published: Publisher, copyright year.

  Example                       

Jones, Mary. How to Build a Kite. NY: Chelsea, 2008.

Citation Example - ONLINE- Newspaper or Magazine from database

Newspaper or Magazine article from an Online Database:

Author last name, first name. "Article Title. "Magazine or Newspaper Publication date: Page if available. Name of Database. Date  accessed  article. <URL.>

 

Example

Black, Debra. "The Holiest of India's Holy Cities." Toronto Star 6 July 2006:A3. SIRS Discoverer. 4 June 2011.http://discoverer.sirs.com.

Libguide is managed by the Media Specialist