LibGuides: Thomas S. Wootton Media Center: Pollin AP World Major States/Empires

Access from home with Google Account

Passwords and logins from home - MUST USE THE URL ATTACHED TO THIS DOCUMENT.

Research with Databases

Database/Online Resources: "Databases offer users access to thousands of books, magazine articles, images, charts and primary sources. These databases contain scholarly and peer-reviewed articles written by credible authors, such as journalists, researchers and experts in their field. Since databases provide powerful search tools for narrowing results, users are able to more quickly find the information they need"

-EBSCO

Civilizations/Assignment

Time period Two looks at some of the great civilizations from the period from 600 B.C.E. to 600 C.E. What makes these states and empires so great? And which one do you consider to be the MOST successful of this time?

SW Asia: Persia (Achaemenid, Parthian, Sassanian)
East Asia: Qin and Han
South Asia: Mauryan and Gupta
Mediterranean: Phoenicia and its colonies, Greek City-states and colonies, Hellenistic and Roman Empires
Mesoamerica: Maya city states

History Reference Center

History Reference Center includes more than 300 reference books & encyclopedias; 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies; and more than 100,000 images and historical maps.

Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center (EBSCO) includes science periodicals, reference books, encyclopedias, essays, biographies, animations, images and videos. Supports all science disciplines.

Explora

Explora Secondary School is designed for middle and high school students providing coverage of current events, primary source documents, and film and video from books, encyclopedias, newspapers, magazines and government reports.